Site Map      

Re: 1787 "Brasher doubloon"

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ Coin Club Moderated Message Board ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by JeffK on June 26, 2009 at 13:26:12:

In Reply to: 1787 BRASHER posted by Terri on April 01, 2006 at 02:44:35:

Apologies for missing this post earlier. You're correct to suspect that the coin could be a fake because only 6 original specimens are known. Pretty much everything else will turn out to be legitimate reproductions or outright counterfeits.

To detect a real one, an expert would have to perform a specific gravity test to help ID what metal it's made of, along with examining design details that could distinguish the real thing from a copy. But the bottom line is similar to all of the "really old Confederate money" that turns up at many sales - it's 99.999% certain to be a copy.

: Hi there,
: I'm very new to the coin world. My Mother who passed away 25 years ago left me a few coins. They were given to her by her Grandmother who was 89 whe she passed away. I really didn't think much of them thinking some were coins from Mexico and not worth much. A friend saw a couple of my coins and became very interested in one, he told me I should research it on the internet. To my suprise there were many sites talking about this coin. I have read a lot on the history of it and learned there were many remakes in the 1800's. I've counted every star looked at every detail of this coin comparing it to an original in the smith.. museum. Some of the remakes have ridges like a quarter would around the outside but mine doesn't, its smooth. The EB is over the wing, all details are the same. Some of the remakes I saw didn't have the name under the leaf like circle, mine does. I had to have a magnifing glass to read it but its there. I talked with a man in New York that I was REFERRED [refered] to and he was pretty excited. The only thing that bothers me is my coin looks to be a very old silver but when you turn it a certain way it looks gold. The ma